Changes in GCSE Grading

How do my grades compare with the legacy GCSE Grading structure and with the 9-1 grading structure?

There has been no change in how we set boundaries and award outcomes at key grade boundaries (Grades A, C and F). Therefore, these grades represent the same level of achievement as they did under the legacy GCSE grading structure. The table below shows comparison between CCEA’s legacy GCSE A*-G grades, CCEA’s revised GCSE A*-G grades and the 9-1 GCSE grading structure.

[Table coming soon]

What is a C* grade?

Under CCEA’s revised GCSE grading, grades A and C represent the same level of achievement. However we now have two grades to award between A and C which are grade B and grade C*.

In the legacy GCSEs we had only one grade between A and C which was grade B.

This means that some candidates who would have been at the bottom of Grade B or top of Grade C in a legacy GCSE will now be awarded grade C*. The new C* grade aligns with the level of achievement consistent with grade 5 on the GCSE 9-1 grading scale.

Why did I achieve/not achieve an A* grade?

Under revised GCSE grading, A* represents a higher level of achievement than was the case for legacy GCSEs. This is because CCEA GCSE grade A* has been re-aligned to reflect the level of achievement of Grade 9 in the GCSE 9-1 grading scale. Therefore there will be slightly less A* grades awarded under the new GCSE grading structure.

Where can I get more information on changes to GCSE grading?

You can find more information of GCSE grading changes in the CCEA Regulation section.