General Certificate of Education (GCE)

On this page

CCEA offers 31 GCE A level qualifications in a range of subjects. These qualifications, designed to suit students aged 16 and over, are at Level 3 on the Regulated Qualifications Framework.

We’ve worked in partnership with educators and industry to ensure that their content and assessment is both relevant to learners and fit for purpose.

From our specifications students can take:

  • an AS course as a final qualification (180 guided learning hours); or
  • AS units plus A2 units for a full GCE A level qualification (360 guided learning hours).

We award AS qualifications on a five grade scale from A to E, with A being the highest. In full A level qualifications an A* grade is also available.

In each subject the content builds on the broad objectives of the Northern Ireland Curriculum. Students deepen and draw together their knowledge and understanding. They also develop and apply skills that will benefit them in their future education and work.

As well as subject specifications and assessment materials, we provide a range of online resources to support teachers delivering our GCE qualifications.

View all GCE subjects


Life and Health Sciences


Nutrition and Food Science


Software Systems Development


Sports Science and the Active Leisure Industry


Technology and Design