Wellbeing Hub


Self-management describes how we regulate our emotions, thoughts and behaviours effectively in different situations. It can help children and young people to manage stress, control impulses, self-motivate, develop organisational skills, and set and work towards achieving personal and academic goals.

Children and young people need to develop strength of character and the ability to adjust to pressure and bounce back from adversity. They also need to develop the social, academic and vocational competencies necessary to do well in life. These are all forms of resilience, which is an attribute that teachers can help develop and foster.

Related key PDMU and LLW curriculum themes:

  • Self-Awareness
  • Feelings and Emotions
  • Learning to Learn.

The Managing Information; Self-Management; Being Creative; and Thinking, Problem-Solving and Decision-Making strands of the Thinking Skills and Personal Capabilities framework are also relevant.

Primary Resources

Living. Learning. Together.
This comprehensive programme provides seven themed colour-coded units for each primary school year from Year 1 to Year 7 – red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet. It suggests learning activities and methodologies for teachers. Each coloured unit identifies a PDMU statutory requirement and curriculum theme that is developed through suggested learning activities. The red, orange and yellow units are particularly useful for this topic.

Thinking Skills and Personal Capabilities Storybooks: Wise Up and Think: Book 5 – Keep Going, Brenda
This resource encourages primary pupils to think about how they can manage and succeed at difficult tasks and challenges.

Post-Primary Resources

Insync explores Personal Development issues at Years 8, 9 and 10. Specific themes – Feelings and Emotions, Managing Influences and Making Decisions, and Self-Concept – address the messages associated with positive mental health.

Special Educational Needs: Severe/Moderate Learning Difficulties Resources

For learners with cognitive learning difficulties, the following thematic units focus on developing understanding of personal development at an appropriate level.

To Be Me: Thematic Units
These units for primary aged learners support teachers in the planning, teaching and assessing of Personal Development and Mutual Understanding within the curriculum.

Post-Primary LLW Units
This range of LLW units for post-primary aged learners allows them to explore some of the issues and challenges that will face them as independent adults.