Wellbeing Hub


Self-awareness means being able to accurately identify our emotions (including strong feelings like anger and grief) and recognise our strengths. It can encourage children and young people to develop a well-grounded sense of confidence and optimism.

Teachers should give their pupils opportunities to consider the importance of self-confidence and self-esteem to physical and mental health. They should encourage them to explore their sense of self and their personal morals, values and beliefs, and investigate influences on themselves and others.

Related key PDMU and LLW curriculum themes:

  • Self-Awareness
  • Feelings and Emotions
  • Learning to Learn.

The Self-Management and Being Creative strands of the Thinking Skills and Personal Capabilities framework are also relevant.

Primary Resources

Living. Learning. Together.
This comprehensive programme provides seven themed colour-coded units for each primary school year from Year 1 to Year 7 – red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet. It suggests learning activities and methodologies for teachers. Each coloured unit identifies a PDMU statutory requirement and curriculum theme that is developed through suggested learning activities. The red and orange units are particularly useful for this topic.

Thematic Unit: Me Inc.
Aimed at Year 5, this unit encourages children to develop a greater sense of self-awareness by thinking critically about the events and circumstances that have shaped their lives and by reflecting on what’s important to them.

Pure Mental NI Toolkit for Key Stage 1
The Key Stage 1 toolkit explore topics such as friendships, talking, bullying, stress, anxiety, sadness and grief. Pure Mental was set up by young people to improve mental health awareness and education in schools across Northern Ireland.

Post-Primary Resources

Insync explores Personal Development issues at Years 8, 9 and 10. Specific themes – Feelings and Emotions, Managing Influences and Making Decisions, and Self-Concept – address the messages associated with positive mental health.

Special Educational Needs: Severe/Moderate Learning Difficulties Resources

For learners with cognitive learning difficulties, the following thematic units focus on developing understanding of personal development at an appropriate level.

To Be Me: Thematic Units
These units for primary aged learners support teachers in the planning, teaching and assessing of Personal Development and Mutual Understanding within the curriculum.

Post-Primary LLW Units
This range of LLW units for post-primary aged learners allows them to explore some of the issues and challenges that will face them as independent adults.