Grade Boundaries

Grade boundaries are the minimum marks you need to achieve each grade.


Where can I find the grade boundaries for GCE A/AS and GCSE?


Uniform Mark Boundaries for GCSE subjects: Summer 2019

GCSE Grading Changes Guide

Occupational Studies Uniform Mark Boundaries: Summer 2019

GCSE Linear Grade Boundaries

GCSE Subject Level UMS Boundaries (inc A star)

GCSE Double Award Science UMS Boundaries (inc A star)


Revised GCE Subject Level Uniform Mark Grade Boundaries: Summer 2019

Uniform Mark Boundaries for legacy GCE specifications: Summer 2019 GCE Mathematics and GCE Further Mathematics only

Uniform Mark Boundaries for revised GCE specifications: Summer 2019


How are key grade boundaries set?

Key grade boundaries (commonly A, C and F) for each component or unit are set by the CCEA awarding committee for each specification. A wide range of information is considered, including reports from the examiners on how candidates answered questions and how these answers compared with those of previous years’ examinations. For each key grade boundary, scripts from previous years representing the quality of work associated with these grades are also considered alongside statistical reports and data. Consideration of all of this information allows the awarding committee to recommend key grade boundaries.


How is the A* grade boundary set?

In the revised GCSE grading method a* is no longer available as a notional unit level grade. An A* is only awarded as a final subject grade. In 2019 the A* boundary for each specification will be set using a formula which awards Grade A* to a calculated percentage of candidates achieving Grade A. This formula aligns with the method used in awarding Grade 9 in the first award of the 9-1 grading system.