Students take centre stage at GCE Celebrating Excellence ceremony

Fifty five local students, who achieved top marks in their 2014 A Level examinations, were presented with awards for their outstanding achievements at CCEA’s annual award ceremony – Celebrating Excellence.

This year’s Celebrating Excellence award ceremony was held on Thursday 18 December at the Stormont Hotel, Belfast, where the top candidates from 42 different schools across Northern Ireland received recognition for their efforts in front of an audience of over 200, family, friends and teachers.

Justin Edwards, Chief Executive at CCEA, was there to congratulate the students. He commented:

This day is very much about celebrating the excellent performance of our award winning students.

Each of these remarkable young people has achieved the highest levels of performance in these important qualifications, and I’m delighted that we’re able to shine a spotlight on their hard work and dedication.

Our young people face an increasingly challenging and competitive world of employment. It is critically important that their skills and knowledge are relevant, fit for purpose and meet the evolving demands of the 21st century.

At CCEA, our mission is to enable the full potential of all learners to be achieved and recognised and the young people being recognised today can look to the future with optimism and I have no doubt they will play an important role in growing our society and economy.

As we celebrate the achievement of our Top Candidates I would like to acknowledge the outstanding teaching workforce across Northern Ireland and the support received from family and friends.

GCE Top Candidates 2014

Subject School Candidate Name
Applied Business DA Lagan College, Belfast Ross John Arnold
Applied Business SA St Louis Grammar School, Ballymena Hannah K McCormick
Applied ICT DA Sacred Heart College, Omagh Eimear M Donaghy
Applied ICT SA Dean Maguirc College, Carrickmore Peadar Kelly
Art & Design Coláiste Feirste Francis O Uisceith
Art & Design Malone College Belfast Dylan Anthony Cooper
Art & Design Methodist College Belfast Rory C Noble-Turner
Art & Design Rathmore Grammar School Belfast Sophie K Loughran
Art & Design Dalriada School Ballymoney Grace E Torrens
Art & Design Rainey Endowed School Magherafelt Aisling B Donnelly
Art & Design Our Lady & St Patrick’s College Knock Lois J Lavery
Art & Design Down High School Downpatrick Rhea Hanlon
Art & Design Friends School Lisburn Susanne Shaw
Art & Design St Patrick's Academy Dungannon Mark Gerard Mullan
Art & Design Lurgan College Bonnie L Staines
Art & Design Banbridge Academy Orlagh Brid Casey
Art & Design Banbridge High School Samuel A McCready
Art & Design New-Bridge Integrated College Tara A M Curran
Art & Design Dromore High School Joshua W L Cargill
Art & Design Dromore High School Ellen M Woods
Art & Design St Louis Grammar School Kilkeel Kathryn E Goodwin
Art & Design Lumen Christi College Derry Christina A Biamis
Art & Design Lumen Christi College Derry Eimear P Kearns
Art & Design Lumen Christi College Derry Aimee A Melaugh
Art & Design Omagh High School Rachael E Colhoun
Biology Victoria College Belfast Aya A Helmy
Biology Rainey Endowed School Magherafelt Amy Thompson
Business Studies St Patrick's Grammar School Downpatrick Niall Daniel Doherty
Chemistry Rainey Endowed School Magherafelt Amy Thompson
Chemistry St Mary's Grammar School Magherafelt Bronagh McGuckin
Economics Grosvenor Grammar School Belfast Thomas R Neill
English Literature Christian Brothers’ Grammar School Omagh Dominic Gerard McGrath
French Aquinas Grammar School Belfast Matthew C Nixon
Further Maths Belfast High School Matthew Kevin Kingston
Geography Our Lady’s Grammar School Newry Laura M Quinn
German Grosvenor Grammar School Belfast Jack A Walker
Government & Politics St Colman's College Newry Gavin J Fleming
Health & Social Care DA St Colman's High & 6th Form College Ballynahinch Bronagh Murray
Health & Social Care SA Loreto Grammar School Omagh Kerry Ann Quinn
History  Ballymena Academy Katie McGaughey
History of Art Latymer Upper School Riki John Ross
Home Economics Wellington College Belfast Kelly Millar
ICT St Patrick's Academy Dungannon Sean Dominic McGirr
ICT Banbridge Academy John Christopher Ashfield
Irish St Patrick's College Maghera Ciara de Brún
Mathematics Dalriada School Ballymoney Kelsey J L McKenna
Mathematics Christian Brothers’ Grammar School Omagh Eoghan Tomas McGrath
Moving Image Arts Bangor Academy Lucy Elizabeth Martin
Music Aquinas Grammar School Matthew C Nixon
Physics Belfast High School Matthew Kevin Kingston
Religious Studies Our Lady’s Grammar School Newry Shannon M McPartland
Religious Studies St Colman's College Newry Gavin J Fleming
Spanish Aquinas Grammar School Amaia Moore
Technology & Design Banbridge Academy Nicky Glenn Galloway

Note to Editors

Media enquiries to MarComms, Mobile 07718 424 373, Email