Useful Resources

Websites

RHS Campaign for School Gardening – they also provide a free start-up kit and newsletters. (schoolgardening.rhs.org.uk/about-us)

Garden Organic School’s Resources (gardenorganic.org.uk/schools)

Countryside Classroom (countrysideclassroom.org.uk)

Gardening with Children (www.gardeningwithchildren.co.uk)

GIY (Grow It Yourself) – they also have a school’s growing campaign with free starter packs. (giyinternational.org)

Grow Your Own Potatoes – free seed potatoes for schools (limited). (gyop.potato.org.uk)

The Conservation Volunteers – native trees and hedging (tcv.org.uk/northernireland/treenursery)

Education for Sustainable Development Forum (eefni.org.uk)

Eatwell Guide (www.foodafactoflife.org.uk)

British Nutrition Foundation (nutrition.org.uk)

Food Growing in Schools Taskforce, March 2012 (foodgrowingschools.org)

Food in Schools Policy (education-ni.gov.uk)

On-line Fruit trees, fruit bushes, plants and seeds.

Local garden centres will probably stock everything you need, but when it comes to buying either early or late maturing varieties of fruit, dwarf fruit trees and/or heritage varieties, then a specialist website is preferable, as they have a much greater variety available.

Seeds, seed potatoes, onion sets, garlic

Dobies of Devon (dobies.co.uk)

Sutton’s Seeds (suttons.co.uk)

D.T. Brown (dtbrownseeds.co.uk)

Thompson and Morgan (thompson-morgan.com)

GIY Ireland (giyinternational.org)

Organic Centre (theorganiccentre.ie/shop)

Irish Seed Savers (irishseedsavers.ie)

Westland Horticulture (gardenhealth.com/about)

Fruit bushes and trees

Ken Muir (www.kenmuir.co.uk)

Brogdale - home of the UK’s national fruit collection (brogdaleonline.co.uk)

Pomona Fruits (pomonafruits.co.uk)

Irish Seed Savers (store.irishseedsavers.ie)

Future Forests (futureforests.net)

Blackmoor Fruit Nursery (blackmoor.co.uk)